Gluten is the main component found in grains of wheat, barley and rye. There are people who show intolerance to gluten, which is the reason why it must be strictly removed from the diet for. Gluten-free diet is recommended for people with celiac disease, a fairly common affection.
Not only people who have this disease support gluten with difficulty. About 20% of people who don’t suffer from celiac disease present some degree of gluten intolerance. Gluten sensitivity has a multitude of symptoms, from those of digestive nature and up to tingling and numbness in feet and hands. Persons consuming gluten-based foods may also have an increased osteoporosis risk, and this composite can even promote the appearance of autism at children.
Although apparently the problem is easy to solve, there are many foods that contain gluten. Obviously bread, pasta and baked goods made from wheat, barley and rye contain gluten. But gluten is also found in sweet preparations, starting with flavored soy milk, rice milk to which may contain gluten added to enrich the texture and taste. Chocolate and powdered broth contain gluten, as well as some industrial preparations and drugstore supplements.
Gluten exists in cosmetic products and cake brought from bakery stores, but also in sausages and salamis. Sauces and jams prepared industrially contain gluten, and most canned soups with cooked envelope have different amounts of this composite in them. Soy sauce and salad dressings have, in turn, added gluten, which means they are significantly more dangerous for people suffering from intolerance to it. Moreover, most supplements and vitamins on the market also contain gluten.
As of recently, FDA has approved the “gluten free” label on foods, which means that consumers will know exactly which foods contain it and which don’t. International dispositions also say that all preparations that contain gluten or have this additive in their composition should be labeled accordingly. Therefore, from now on it’s considerably easier for users to follow a diet without gluten.
Pages: 1 2